If there is no agreement on a framework agreement (or “modalities”) in the Doha Round agricultural negotiations until 31 December 2013, these annual tariff reductions may be delayed by up to two years for the remaining years. Mr Lamy distributed to the countries concerned legally certified copies of the revised EU commitments (WT/Let/868 document of 30 October 2012) replacing a complex and illegal WTO banana import regime with tariffs. These banana import duties fall to 114 euros per tonne each year. One of the REVISed EU commitments is the 2009 Geneva Banana Agreement. The WTO is the acidification of these revised obligations, which have now been accepted by WTO membership. The Banana Framework Agreement (BFA) contains provisions on treatment, the common area and banana production and other banana activities. It was concluded in 1993 between the European Union and Costa Rica, Colombia, Nicaragua and Venezuela following a dispute under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) on the EU banana import regime. Since then, a number of legal actions have been needed, including each country that ratified the 2009 agreement and the EU, which introduces legislation and regulations for the implementation of this agreement. After being accepted by WTO membership as part of the EU`s new commitment, it is now multilateral. On 9 June 2010, the EU and Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru and Venezuela, the Geneva Agreement on Banana Trade[2], which agreed on a series of preferential tariffs on imports of fresh EU bananas applicable from 2009 to 1 January 2017, and triggers any ongoing disputes between the EU and these nations known as “Latin American banana suppliers”. Five Latin American countries (Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua and Venezuela) filed a complaint in 1993 against the EU banana import regime, in which they stated that they violated the basic principles of GATT. The GATT body confirmed this view, but its report was not adopted, as the required unanimity was prevented by the EU and the countries in the ACP group of countries that received preferential treatment under the EU`s entry regime. The following year, four of the five complainants entered into the BFA with the EU, giving them specific shares in the linked tariff quota to which they were subjected to the export of bananas to the EU.

[1] DSB President Shahid Bashir, Ambassador of Pakistan, presided over the signing by the EU and the ten Latin American countries of a “mutually agreed solution” (WT/DS16/8, officially from the close of banana disputes (DS16, DS27, DS105, DS158, DS361 and DS364) between the EU and Latin American countries The Geneva Banana Agreement was concluded in December 2009 by the EU, Latin American countries and the United States.

Publié le